South Australian Country Fire Service Promotions Unit

Raising awareness of the roles, training and activities of CFS Volunteers state-wide


Site News
Return to News Archive

Fire danger season start dates - all areas
Submitted On Wednesday, October 16, 2002
Submitted By Pip McGowan

The starting dates for the Fire danger season restrictions across the state vary across the different fire ban districts. Don't get caught out! There are heavy fines for burning off without a permit, during the fire danger season.

The starting dates are:

North East Pastoral November 1
North West Pastoral November 1
Flinders November 1
West Coast November 1
Eastern Eyre Peninsula November 1
Western Eyre Peninsula November 1
Mt Lofty Ranges November 1

Riverland November 15
Murraylands November 15
Yorke Peninsula November 15
Mid North November 15
Upper South East November 15

Lower South East November 22

Kangaroo Island December 1

During the Fire danger season, burning off is not permitted, unless you have obtained a permit from your local council.

Other restrictions also apply on other activites, such as welding and slashing.

For any further information, please contact the Fire Prevention Officer at your local council, the CFS Bushfire Prevention Unit, or check out the CFS HQ website at for all the infornation

Return to Top of Page